Possession by JR Ward

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

 

Title: Possession

Author: J R Ward

Genre: paranormal

What I liked: Cameos from Xhex and John

What I didn’t like: Jim and Sissy

Recommended Read: Only if you have read the series.

Rating: 2 stars

 

Synopsis:

 

Jim Heron, disgruntled fallen angel, thinks that he finally has a leg up against Devinia, a devil’s minion, in their fight over seven souls to end the war against good and evil. This is because Jim knows exactly which earthly soul he needs to save: a distant single father of a 13-year-old son. Luckily, Jim thinks that he can leverage the power of love, because this man is in love with a careful woman previously burnt by lust. So instead, Jim focuses his attentions on Sissy, the young soul he saved from Devinia’s clutches, who is now transitioning to her life as an angel.

 

But things are more complicated than they seem, because someone else is in love with that careful woman – the twin of the man whose soul needs saving. And unfortunately, this twin is the better contender for romance – he’s a good-hearted sensitive musician. Torn between gentle support and steamy passion, will this woman make the choice that brings a brooding, broken soul to redemption? Or will that soul be doomed to endure the most hellish possession?

 

Michelle’s Review:

 

Honestly, it took me most of last year to read this book. I don’t know what happened with this series, but it seems to have just flopped. The book did not hold my interest at all through it. And it got to the point where I skimmed a lot of it just to understand what was going on.

So where to start on the problems? My biggest one was Sissy and Jim. Now, I can understand him wanting to help her, but come on! They were one win away from saving her anyway, so I have no idea why he would risk everything to do what he did. The whole thing put me off reading it from the very start. My head would just not wrap around the logic behind his actions.

Then there was the boredom factor to the book. I am pretty sure that for me this began in the last book. The similarities between that book and Wrath and Beth from the BDB books was too much for me. It gave me the feeling that I had read it all before. So when it came to this one, although there was not that similarity issue, there was a loss of love with the series. And to be honest, the storyline just left me feeling empty.

 

So what did I like about this book? The cameos. They were the best part about the whole thing. When Alex Hess shows up and then John Matthew comes in? That was the best bit of the book. And I don’t think a book should be like that.

 

In fact, if it wasn’t for the cameos, I wouldn’t have finished it. And I still don’t even really know who won; that’s how uninterested I was in the whole thing.

 

There is, however, one book left in the series, and I am a glutton for punishment. So I will try and read it just so I can say I finished the series.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

