Why I write What I Write, guest post by Brooke Williams

salycover

Why I Write What I Write

 

A Guest Blog by Brooke Williams

 

Those who are not writers are often in awe that writers can write the things that they write. Clear as mud, no? When people find out that I’m an author/freelance writer and then read some of my work, they often ask me how I came up with the things that I write. I usually just shrug and say, “I don’t know!” It’s a lot faster than delving into the issue. And it’s hard to explain! But today, I’m going to try!

 

Long story short, I write what I write because I don’t have a choice but to write it. No, there’s no one standing behind me forcing me to type or else. But when an idea starts to form, the characters and scenes begin to call out to me. I can’t sleep. I can’t think about regular everyday things. I can’t NOT write it down!

 

The first time that happened to me I was just a couple of years into my career in radio. I had always had a book idea in the back of my mind…one about a woman in a coma and the things she would remember or overhear while in that state. But when the prologue to the story came to me out of the blue, I knew I could put off the idea no longer. I wrote the prologue. Once it was solidified, I didn’t have a choice. I had to finish the story. “Someone Always Loved You” was born and I was just as surprised by what occurred as someone reading it the first time.

 

Since that time, I have written many other books including a thriller entitled “Beyond the Bars.” But one thing has remained true about all of my novels. I don’t outline. I don’t plot too far ahead. I don’t know what’s going to happen. I get a basic, general idea. I think up the first scene. And then, I write.

 

I like to approach writing as a reader. When I open a book, I might have an idea what’s going to happen, but I never really know until I read the whole thing. The same thing can be said about my writing. And I only write what I am so compelled to write that I simply cannot hold it in any longer.

 

This is the reason why I have written so many genres. “Someone Always Loved You” is contemporary fiction. I like to call it a family drama. “Beyond the Bars” is more of a thriller with a tinge of mystery. Then there is “God in the Kitchen” and “Taxi Delivery,” which air more on the Christian romance side.

 

Recently, I have had success in the romance field with my romantic comedy novella “Wrong Place, Right Time” coming out December 9th, “Accept this Dandelion” being released in February 2015 and “Mamarazzi” slated for an August 2015 release. I even have a children’s book under contract…”Baby Sheep Gets a Haircut” will hit the shelves in February 2016.

 

I write what I write because I have to! I write because I’m awake…because I’m breathing…because I can think of nothing else I’d rather do. I have made a career out of freelance writing, but when it comes to fiction writing, my goal is that the readers enjoy reading the books I write even half as much as I have enjoyed writing them!

 

 

Links:

 

Website:

http://www.authorbrookewilliams.com/

 

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorBrookeWilliams

 

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/151184.Brooke_Williams

 

Someone Always Loved You Amazon link:

http://www.amazon.com/Someone-Always-Loved-Brooke-Williams-ebook/dp/B004H8GBYK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404240094&sr=8-1&keywords=someone+always+loved+you

 

Email:

authorbrookewilliams@gmail.com

 

 

 

Brooke Williams bio

IMG_8272PCPV

Brooke Williams is an award-winning author and freelance writer. She began her career in radio, both on the air and behind the scenes. She did a brief stint in TV news and then took on her most challenging job as a stay at home mom. During the few quiet hours in her day, Brooke writes articles for a number of clients as well as fiction creations such as “Someone Always Loved You.” Brooke has also written “Beyond the Bars,” a thriller, “God in the Kitchen,” a Christian novel, and “Taxi Delivery,” a Christian Romance. Brooke looks forward to the December 9th release of “Wrong Place, Right Time,” a romantic comedy and the February 2015 release of “Accept this Dandelion” inspired by the Bachelor TV show. Brooke has been married to her husband Sean since 2002 and has two daughters, Kaelyn and Sadie.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Guest post

One response to “Why I write What I Write, guest post by Brooke Williams

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog today!

Leave a Reply

