The Stars Are Falling, Blog Tour Stop

40e98-the-stars-are-falling-large-blog-tour-banner

It’s Excerpt day on the blog tour today! So it’s time for something a little longer than the Tuesday Teaser posts you’ve been getting for the last couple of weeks.

Here’s a bit from chapter 11.

I got to the railing just in time to see the splash. But when I glanced up, Mark was already being set upon by the gang. Dark as the water was, I couldn’t see if Stacy came back up. Given the blows to her head, I doubted it.

“Ah, hell,” I muttered.

Turning on my heel, I sprinted back to the car. There was a torch in the glove compartment, always was.

“Help Mark,” I shouted when I passed Dale and Alexis.

They went shooting off to assist him, and I continued racing for the car, for the torch.

I had never met Stacy before, but seeing her go over the bridge… I had to check that she’d come up again.

Torch was exactly where it was supposed to be; in the glove box, at the back. One flick to make sure it was working, and I was running back for the bridge.

The gang had dissipated some by the time I got there. With Dale, Mark and Alexis they had fled, only a couple of stragglers staying behind to shout obscenities. I shone the light over the edge frantically, but couldn’t see her. Couldn’t hear anyone gasping for breath in the relative quiet, either. No splashing. Nothing.

On the other side, I leaned as far as I could, shining the torch as far under the bridge as the railings would let me.

There! The light caught something and I swept it back. Up against one of the bridge supports. A face, dark hair. No movements. She was out of the water enough to not drown, but not enough to survive the icy soak.

“I can see her!” I called.

At the sound of my voice she flinched, moved. Eyelids fluttered against the light, but she wasn’t awake enough to swim yet.

There was only one way that came to mind to get her out of the water.

“Dale, can you get the car down there?” I pointed to the piece of park land that ran alongside the bridge.

“Yeah.”

“Okay, you do that. Mark, you know where she lives?”

He nodded.

“Alexis, get every blanket we’ve got in the car and meet me by that little pier.”

Dale was the one to ask, “What are you doing?”

“These waters are cold, Dale, she stays in there, she’ll die. Either the current will wash her free and she’ll drown, or she’ll die from the cold.”

“So what are you doing?”

I smiled up at him and reached up to place a hand on his cheek. “What do you think I’m doing?”

Before he had chance to say it or talk me out of it, I leapt. Up onto the railings, first. Then down, straight into the water.

 

As you can see, things are heating up! Or cooling down, as the case may be.

The Stars Are Falling is now out, and available across all the platforms, including B&N, Kobo, Amazon, and the ibookstore (just search for Michelle Birbeck).

And for those of you who are inclined to enter giveaways, there’s one of those happening, too! Where you can win a paperback or an ebook of The Stars Are Falling!

44e8b-2010-12-10_giveaway-01Rafflecopter Giveaway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Michelle Birbeck

Leave a Reply

