Armchair Book Expo 2014, Introductions and Literature

Introductions

 

1: Describe your blog in just one sentence, and list your social medias.

 

The title says it all on this one: Shot, sweet, and snappy (with the occasional long, sour, and snappy).

For more info, I’m on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and Tumblr.

 

2: What was your favourite book last year? This year so far?

 

My favourite book of last year is one I didn’t really enjoy. I know, I know, that sounds really weird, but hear me out. It was the last in the Charlaine Harris True Blood series, and the reason it was my favourite book is because it was the last. I have been reading the books for so long, and when I’m that far into a series, I am committed to reading it until the end unless something goes really wrong. In this case, I was committed until the end, and when the end came, it was with a sigh of relief that I read the last book. So for that reason, it was my favourite book of the year.

 

This year’s book, however, already has a firm first place favourite. The King, by J.R Ward. For one simple reason (Warning: There are spoilers ahead.) Baby Wrath. And of course, the whole lead up to Baby Wrath and everything that surrounded Baby Wrath. Of course, I could have done without most of the first 50 chapters of the book, but so long as that ending doesn’t change, it will remain the best book I have read this year.

 

3: If you were stranded on a desert island what three books would you bring and why? What three non-book things and why?

 

Book 1: Dark Lover, because I can read it so many times and not be bored.

Book 2: Affliction by Laurell K Hamilton, because it was almost more awesome than The King.

Book 3: The Lake by Richard Laymon, because it is a fantastic horror book, and I can only hope I will be half as good as that one day.

 

Item 1: Laptop, so I can write my own books and have an endless supply of entertainment.

Item 2: Solar charger, so my laptop will never run out of battery!

Item 3: The World’s biggest box of matches, because I can fish, I can build, but can I hell build a fire, and I love being warm.

 

4: What book would you love to see as a movie?

 

Either the Black Dagger Brotherhood series (even though I doubt they will ever be able to get any of the Brothers right), or the Anita Blake series by Laurell K Hamilton. The former because I am completely and utterly in love with the series and I don’t see that ending any time soon. The latter because I think they would make a great series of films if all the crap and pointless sex was cut from it.

 

5: Please tell us a bit about yourself: Who you are, how long you have been blogging.

 

I am me! I am crazy and mental and I change my mind often. I read and I write. I love creating, and I love building a character up just to see how much they can take before they break. Short stories keep me going when I’m in a reading funk, and my favourite place to read is my bed.

As for this blog: I’m coming up on its second anniversary this year, and it has been plodding along quite nicely since I began.

 

Literature:

 

What do you think of when you think of literature?

 

When I think of literature I don’t think of a genre or a style of writing or the classics. I think of books. I think of the shelves and shelves of stories that people made up that are just begging to be read. The good ones, the bad ones, every single one that has been passed around between friends and ranted or raved about. The books that inspired generations, predicted the future or got left behind in some hotel room. The ones that were turned into movies and the ones that never will be. To be literature is the world of books and everything that entails. From concept to creation, reading to pages falling out.

Sure, it’s split up between genres and styles and time periods, but at the core of it every single book is made up of the exact same letters turned into words into sentences into paragraphs into chapters and into entire worlds that never before existed.

12 Comments

Filed under Michelle Birbeck

12 responses to “Armchair Book Expo 2014, Introductions and Literature

  1. Great to meet you. I hope you enjoyed ABEA!

  2. Happy #ArmchairBEA! The Anita Blake series would make a great film.

  3. Visiting your blog via ABEA; my YA mystery / thriller, FERAL, will release in August with HarperTeen.

  4. Hi, love your blog name and The Black Dagger Brotherhood would make for some awesome movies.

  5. Hi, Michelle! I’ve heard quite a few people say something similar about that final True Blood book. I haven’t read any of them, but a common sentiment seems to be that, well, the author seemed to just want to end it? I felt that way about Mockingjay.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Not read the Hunger Games books, but with the True Blood one, it def felt like the author just wanted it over and took the easy leave everything unfinished kind of way out.

  6. Hi. I love how you explained literature. Hope you have a wonderful week at ArmchairBEA.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I do love my books, and sometimes I think people who talk about literature can put people off reading them with how they describe what literature is.

  7. HI! Hope you have a great week.
    I’ve never heard of The Lake but I like horror. I must look it up.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Almost all of the books by Richard Laymon are fantastic reads. They’re not as dark as King’s work, which works better for me, but they are all worth a read 🙂

Leave a Reply

