The King by JR Ward

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

 

Title: The King

Author: JR Ward

Genre: Paranormal

What I liked: The ending

What I didn’t like: The excessive chapters not about the main characters

Recommended Read: Yes!

Rating: 5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Long live the King . . .

 

 

 

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle- with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything – and everyone – at risk.

 

 

 

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response – or the distance it creates between them.

 

 

 

The question is, will true love win out . . . or tortured legacy take over?

 

Michelle’s Review:

 

Out of the whole Black Dagger Brotherhood series this is both my favourite and my least favourite. I can’t, however, bring myself to give it anything less than 5 stars, because as much as there were several things that annoyed me, the ending blew me away.

 

So let’s start with the things I didn’t like, because that’s a shorter list than what I did like. The main issue was the chapters that weren’t about the main characters. Namely those about Sola and Assail. For me they added absolutely nothing to the story. Their tale intersected only briefly with the main storyline, and even that was indirectly. To the point where if that whole storyline was removed from the book, I would not have even noticed.

 

And now onto the things I did like, and fair warning, if you have not read the book, stop reading here, because there are going to be spoilers.

 

Wrath’s parents. Hands down, out of the whole series, those flashbacks into the past are the best. I adored looking at the similarities between Wrath and his father, the way Wrath senior met his mate, the way he didn’t want to be the King. All of it was such a wonderful look into the family’s past, and I loved every second of it.

 

Second has to be the last twenty chapters. That’s where the book really turned around and blew me away. From the surprise pregnancy, to Wrath’s absolute joy over it, to the best line of the book: See ya, motherfuckers. It was twist after turn after surprise. And for me, the ending of this book not only saved the whole thing, but had me on the edge of my seat with absolute awe.

Now I want the next instalment!

Click here if you fancy giving it a go.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

