Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

 

Title:  Dead Ever After

Author: Charlaine Harris

Genre: Horror/paranormal

What I liked: That the series is over

What I didn’t like: Too much to list

Recommended Read: Only if you’ve read the series.

Rating: 2 stars

 

Synopsis:

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

 

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

 

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

 

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

 

Michelle’s Review:

 

Where to start with this mess? Perhaps at the end, for a change, because that’s the biggest thing that made me put the book down and say: what a load of rubbish. For a last book in the series, there seem to be a lot of loose ends. Such as what happened to Sam and Sookie? Did they live happy ever after? Did they break up after a couple of months? Did Bill ever find anyone? Has Sookie’s cousin Hunter grown up all right?

 

But of course, the biggest what the hell out of that lot has to be Sam and Sookie. Had I not already heard through the grapevine that this was coming, I’m pretty sure I would have laughed my ass off and declared the entire book to be a work of self-gratifying fanfiction for the Sam/Sookie shippers. Not that I don’t mind a good bit of fanfic every now and then, and not that I don’t like Sam, but there doesn’t seem to have been any indication prior to the end of book twelve that Sookie thought of Sam in any other way than a brother. But hey, it’s not my book, and I suppose if the author wants to put them together in an attempt to give the series some closure, then fine.

 

However, the ludicrous ending wasn’t the only issue I had with this book. The switch in writing really threw me. We’ve gone from twelve books of single first person point of view, to a book that switches between that and third person point of view. And honestly, I don’t think those changes in point of view really added much to the overall novel. To me, they seemed like little more than a good way to pad out the book without tying up the loose ends that could have been tied up.

 

So for me, I am glad this series is over. I’m glad I borrowed the last book from the library instead of paying for it before the paperback comes out, and I am happy that I don’t have to read any more of the books. In my opinion this whole series has been like the Big One (or whatever it’s called these days) roller coaster in Blackpool. It was all uphill at the very start, but after that first rush of falling from the sky everything else is a bit of a disappointment.

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

