Affliction, by Laurell K Hamilton

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

 

Title:  Affliction

Author: Laurell K Hamilton

Genre: horror

What I liked: Everything!

What I didn’t like: Nothing.

Recommended Read: Yes!

Rating: 5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Some zombies are raised. Others must be put down. Just ask Anita Blake.

Before now, she would have considered them merely off-putting, never dangerous. Before now, she had never heard of any of them causing human beings to perish in agony. But that’s all changed.

Micah’s estranged father lies dying, rotting away inside from some strange ailment that has his doctors whispering about “zombie disease.”

Anita makes her living off of zombies—but these aren’t the kind she knows so well. These creatures hunt in daylight, and are as fast and strong as vampires. If they bite you, you become just like them. And round and round it goes…

Where will it stop?
Even Anita Blake doesn’t know.

 

Michelle’s Review:

This series has been up and down for me. It started great, then digressed into little more than smut with a vague plot. However, the last couple of books have been getting better, and this one has been the best so far. I loved the pacing, the plot, the twists, the fact that it kept me guessing until the end, and I loved the flamethrower. There honestly isn’t anything I can say about this book that is negative.

 

So let’s look a little more in depth at this one and what made it so great. For a start, the zombies were back. Good, old fashioned zombie raising. It’s where the series began, and I was very happy to see a return to that. And given the twists we saw in the book regarding the zombies and Anita’s powers, I am very much looking forward to seeing what comes next.

 

Secondly, the pacing and action for me was just right. It had me excited and bouncing, but also gave me time in between the big events of the book to sit back and think. It wasn’t all go all the time, and it wasn’t slow and boring.

 

Of course, I mentioned earlier that some of this series digressed into smut and not much else, but that the last few books have been getting better. That’s not to say there isn’t any sex at all in this book; there is. However, it was well timed, well-paced, didn’t take three chapters to get through, and was actually relevant to the plot for a change.

 

So overall, before I spend all day going on about this book, I give it a hearty five stars. It’s renewed my faith in the series, and has me excited for the next one.

 

As always, you can make up your own mind by picking the book up or downloading the ebook from pretty much any book shop.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

