Top 5 Books – Indie Block Party

Today on the Indie Block Party, I’m talking about my top 5 favourite books. Except that I’m changing it up a little. Instead of just books, I am going with series, otherwise you’d be seeing 5 books out of a series instead of something different.

So let’s have a look at who’s first up on the list, though they are not in any particular order:

 

The Chronicles of Narnia is a set of books I have been reading for what feels like my whole life. I love them. It isn’t one thing in particular about them that I love, just all of them. Voyage of the Dawn Treader is my favourite of all the books. The whole series has something magical about it, and if you haven’t read it, then I recommend going and getting the books right now.

The Nightworld Series by L.J. Smith. This was my first foray into the paranormal, and I will always remember it as such. I was fifteen, and got all the books from the library and read them as often as they would let me take them out. Then as soon as I had money of my own, I bought them for my own library.

 

Third up has to be The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. After I read the Nightword series by L.J Smith, I discovered Anne Rice, and have never turned back. If you’re into the paranormal and haven’t read these, then you are absolutely missing out.

 

And another of the series I love is the Black Dagger Brotherhood. I’m not going to say much on the subject, because otherwise I will be here all day and this post would be longer than all the rest of my posts combined. So I’ll leave it as this: Warrior vampires who kick ass and wear leather and have some fantastic sex.

 

Then lastly, is an author rather than a series. Richard Laymon. I have his entire paperback novel collection, and I love every single one of them. They’re horror books, but not as dark as Stephen King. They are a combination of human monsters and actual monsters and magic and everything in between. Highly recommended read if you like horror with not too much bite but enough bite to leave you stinging.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Michelle Birbeck

6 responses to “Top 5 Books – Indie Block Party

  1. I need to add The Vampire Chronicle to my to-read-list.

  2. burnsmillie

    I like the sound of your list!

  3. I’ve heard a lot about the Black Dagger Brotherhood, but haven’t found time to start a new series. I also read the Chronicles of Narnia when I was a kid. I remember going to see the movie, the people in the audience who hadn’t read the book were quite obvious.

  4. Good for you calling out series instead. A lot of what we read these days is series, and its hard to separate the one book out from those series. (I hadn’t read your post when I wrote mine though, and I did. If only I knew! 😉

Leave a Reply

