Current WIP – Indie Block Party

Today on the Indie Block Party we’re talking works in progress. This is currently my cue to get my geek on and scare people with how I start vibrating with excitement.
So before I begin shaking down the house, what exactly is my current WIP?

The Stars Are Falling.

It’s a jump into a new type of writing for me: Young Adult Sci-fi. And to this day, almost a year after I wrote it, I have no idea why I wrote a young adult anything, let alone sci-fi! However, ten days, and a whole lot of research later, and I did exactly that.
So why am I so excited about this book in particular? Well, here’s the first paragraph:

My feet sank quietly into the thick, pale carpeting of my shared home as I tiptoed in at just after two in the morning. The house was quiet, and I wanted it to stay that way. I had ditched a night out in favour of taking my telescope up the nearby hill for the night. My excuse had been that calculating the difference in signal of a radio transmitter when an elephant was in the way took up a lot of time. I’d lost my housemates at radio transmitter. Their eyes had glazed over and mumbled acceptances hadn’t been long in coming.

This is the start of the book, the first chapter, just before everything kicks off. It’s about Jenny, a physics student at York university here in the UK. She loves the night sky, as you can see from above, and Dale, who enters in paragraph two. The same night she ditches her friends in favour of the stars, a meteor comes crashing down near their house. What rises from the ground looks human, sounds human, walks like a human, but the light they emit is hot enough to burn a person to nothing. They’re after Jenny, and she has no idea why. It soon emerges that these falling stars are mother nature’s protectors, and they’re none too happy with how the human race is treating the planet. It’s then up to Jenny and her friends to not only survive, but find a way to convince the visitors that destroying the human race isn’t the way to save the Earth.

Now, there isn’t a huge amount of science in the book, because not everyone enjoyed science in school, and no one outside of the physics community wants to hear an in depth explanation of how everything works. But science does make an appearance, and for the facts in there I have Mr Duck to thank.

He’s my very good friend and a physics tutor. I spent a good long time talking physics with him, and honestly, a lot of it went over my head, but the bits that stuck, I used. Since then, I’ve been volunteering with the Institute of Physics and, as my husband puts it, being a theoretical physicist. That basically means I explain some very basic physics to people at events, whilst making pretty things like planets made from balloons. However, it is very interesting, and I have learned a lot.

But back to The Stars Are Falling, before I go off on a tangent. It’s fast paced, exciting, and though it is outside what I normally write, it is also exactly what I normally write. It’s something different, something new, and something I have completely and utterly enjoyed writing.

I don’t have a cover to share with you at the moment, but I will do soon, and the release date is set for 2014. In the meantime, you can find it on Goodreads. Also, there’s a video that I made when I was there over the summer.

12 Comments

Filed under Michelle Birbeck

12 responses to “Current WIP – Indie Block Party

  1. Pingback: First, A High School Noir Novelette | Paul C. Hoppe

  2. Wonderful concept! Such an evocative title. I like the idea of nature phenomena having more dire meanings than we currently understand.

    Keep writing.

  3. Pingback: Unofficial Indie Block Party | YOURS IN STORYTELLING...

  4. I’m glad to see an no-scientist person actually understand that physics is understandable if you try.
    This book sounds interesting.

  5. Thanks for sharing you WIP. I love sci fi movies, but don’t read it much. This sounds really interesting.

  6. Cathy Brockman

    Love your paragraph

  7. Like the first paragraph. Like the elephant. Snag is, I started to work out if an elephant being in the way would make a difference, why and by how much. I need to get out more.

Leave a Reply

