Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review

Title: Deadlocked
Author: Charlaine Harris
Genre: paranormal
What I liked: not a lot
What I didn’t like: it was pretty boring
Rating: 2 stars
Recommended Read: Only if you’ve already read the rest of the series.

Michelle’s Review

When there’s not really anything you liked about a book, there’s a question that has to be asked, and that is: why finish it?
The answer is simple: I’ve read the entire of the series and there are two books left, this one and one more, so I feel I have to read them. However, having said that, there really wasn’t much I liked about this book.
It took me a while to read it, and very time I put it down, I s more than happy to let it sit and not bother with it for days. There was very little other than sheer boredom and some train rides that made me finish it. Had this been the start of the True Blood series, I wouldn’t have ever bothered,
The pacing, yet again, was something that I didn’t like, but I’ve said that about all the books. Te chapter length another thing that I’ve never liked.
One thing I have to say, though, is that I know what’s coming in the last book. I know what happens, though I won’t say anything here, and I can see how in this book the author is building up to it. But I think that 12 books into a 13 book series is a bit late to be building to something that big! For those of you further ahead in the series than I am, you know what I mean.
So will I be back to get the final book in this series? Yes. Would I recommend anyone buy the entire series in one go? No. Read book one. See if you’re all right with the pacing and things first, and the get them one at a time and quit when you get to about book ten. Because really, the series is going from bad to worse, and I’m happy to say I can’t afford the last book for a little while yet, because then I do get it, I expect it will take me weeks to finish.
On the plus side, the series is almost over and I don’t have to read them again if I don’t want to.

2 Comments

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

2 responses to “Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

  1. Ahh, I love an honest review! Sorry that you didn’t enjoy this one, but thanks for sharing your thoughts with us anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

