Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review

Title: Dead Rockoning
Author: Charlaine Harris
Genre: paranormal
What I liked: it was a quick read
What I didn’t like: pacing and storyline
Rating: 3 stars
Recommended read: only if you’ve read the rest of the series.

Michelle’s Review:

I started reading this series a while ago, right after the show True Blood came out, because I got bored with the show and wanted to know who did it. So I picked up the first book, struggled through it, went on to read the rest because I had nothing better to do, and now I am finally nearing the end of the series.

So what’s the problem with this one? I’ve always had an issue with the pacing of these books. The excitement seems to be skimmed over, whilst everything else seems to drag. There has never really been a balance for me in that regard. This book happens to be the best one of the series in that regard. It s also the quickest I’ve read one of the Sookie Stackhouse books. Normally I have to read a chapter at a time, and by the time I get to the end of one of the long chapters, I have to put the book down. But with this one I managed to read it in a day.

However, that’s about the best thing I can say about it. The storyline s a bit… Well, meh is the best way to describe it. There didn’t seem to be much going on, like with the other books. It all just seemed a bit boring.

If you’ve read the rest of the series, then it might be worth completing the whole set, but if you haven’t even started the series yet, then I wouldn’t be rushing out to buy the box set.

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

