Lover At Last by J.R Ward

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

Title:  Lover at Last

Author: J R Ward

Genre: Paranormal

What I liked: Far too long a list .

What I didn’t like: all the heartfail!

Recommended Read: Oh yeah.

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis:

In the darkest corners of the night in Caldwell, New York, a conflict like no other rages. The city is home to a band of brothers born to defend their race: the warrior vampires of the BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another. Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: the male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young – just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned first-hand. Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions …but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage.

Michelle’s Review:

Brace yourselves, this is going to be a long one. Starting with the fact that I had to wait an entire week after the book was out in order to read it. Deadlines and a distinct dwindling of my bank account prevented me from doing much more than lamenting the good times everyone else was having with the book. At the same time, when the book turned up the morning of my forced two day break, I had to stop and ask myself if it was going to live up to the hype.

Short answer, yes. Long answer… well, that involves a lot of drooling, crying, anger, and squeals so loud I’m sure the neighbours heard.

So here are my impressions of Lover at Last.

The boys. Our main couple who never seem to go anywhere but away from each other. I wanted to slap the pair of them upside the head so damned much. Every other chapter when one of them did something stupid, and that’s when not if, I wanted to take their skulls, bash them together and forced them into a locked room lined with steel until they came to some kind of truce.

However, having said that, the way things played out, through all the sex, heartache, head banging, and everything else… yeah. It fit. It worked for them, and I am hugely glad it did. After everything they both went through, they deserve it.

And now for some other points. Be warned though, if you haven’t read the book, then you might want to go away because this is going to be rife with spoilers.

Firstly the plane. Good god! Talk about your heartfails! I was on the edge of my seat all the way through that. Every second that passed, every word where they were still in the air and so far away from being safe… and that landing! I’m not sure it is considered a landing if you take out everything in your path in the process. But I am immensely glad they managed not to land the damned thing on the house.

The second highlight, as it were, of the book was Havers. It isn’t a highlight because of the actions and words of that stuck up pretentious (I can’t repeat here exactly what I called him, but rest assured it contained about three more profanities in various reincarnations). It’s because of how it was handled. Personally, I almost threw the book at the wall because of how he treated Layla. How dare he do that to her, to anyone! She was on the verge of/actually losing her baby. She went to him for help. And what did Havers do? He treated her like the frikking test tube in test tube babies. Like a piece of replaceable, cast of thousands, unidentifiable crap that couldn’t possibly have any feelings because it was a test tube.

 

And Layla’s reaction? Perfect. They want to treat her like a fragile china doll with no opinions of her own? Then good god damn is she going to use that against them, and she did and it was utterly fantastic. And then Phury and Qhuinn took her back, and Phury held his own, and Qhuinn… well, I’m surprised he didn’t kill the doctor. I wanted him to. Badly.

I would like to take a moment to mention here the king. Wrath, son of Wrath. I absolutely loved the way he managed to bullshit his way through the meeting with the glymera. But what I love more is the fact that they were all quaking in their pansy ass, never seen mud in their lives boots. What I am scared about for the next book, however, is this whole full blooded heir thing. That has me scared.

But enough of the future of the series. Back to the new character, Sola. I like her. She isn’t stupid and we don’t know much about her yet, but I would like to see more of her. However, leaving her wherever she is… that’s been done before, so I’m not sure how to feel about repeating tactics in the series.

Luchas. Not sure what to make of that one. When I started reading that particular bit, I thought for a moment that Ward had resurrected Lash, and then I would have thrown my book at the walls, because that was one mean, fucked up, deserved to die bleeeeeeeep. But no, it wasn’t him. Thank goodness! Instead Qhuinn’s brother. A guy thought to be dead. Confirmed to be dead. What’s going to happen with him? No idea. But I want to find out.

And now the Brotherhood. I squealed. I cried. I hugged my book.

I squealed because it was finally happening. The boys we’ve followed from the start to now, and one of them was finally getting inducted into the Brotherhood. That fact alone had me excited.

I cried because every single bloody one of the Brothers, king included, nominated him. Every single one. They all know Qhuinn saved the king’s life. And now he’d saved Z’s, too. Not because he had a hero complex or anything, but because it was the right thing to do at the time. The only thing he could do in the circumstances besides leaving the others to their fates.

I hugged my book because I always hug my books. But also because the Brotherhood are now eight in number, and I have a feeling that might be growing in the coming books.

And now onto the technical stuff. As always I loved Ward’s writing. The one or two errors in it didn’t go unnoticed, but the book is six hundred pages long, and for that to be perfect takes a better eye than most people have. The rest, however, was the same standard as the first books in the series. Which basically means that it’s well written, easy enough to read, and didn’t have anything wrong with it that I noticed. Of course, I am slightly obsessed with the series, so that might have something to do with it.

Lastly, in this long winded review, I started this book at 10am when the post man dropped it into my waiting arms (I might have scared the poor guy as I spotted him coming and threw open the door going, gimme! Gimmie! Gimmie!), and I didn’t finish until 4am. I had to take a break in the middle because of prior engagements, food, husband wanting attention, but for the most part, I sat, I read, and I looked like a loon the entire time. It was worth every second. Every heartfail. Every near death, resurrection, stupid mistake, serious kink in the road, and every single word. This is now my second favourite book in the series. Second only behind Dark Lover.

Click the title up above to be taken to amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under novel reviews, reviews

Leave a Reply

