The Dead Beats by Emma Meade @emmameade83

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

Title:  The Dead Beats

Author:  Emma Meade

Genre: Paranormal

What I liked: Had an essence of Queen of the Damned

What I didn’t like:  bit of the grammar

Recommended Read:  yes

Rating:  4 stars

The Dead BeatsSynopsis:

It’s good to be alive…when you’re dead!

Meet Alex & Tristan, modern star-crossed lovers of the supernatural variety. Vampire rock star, Tristan, has a serious obsession with Bruce Springsteen and is battling a ‘can’t live without you’ sort of love for Alex. He’s trying to persuade her to come over to the dark side, but so far she’s resisting his efforts…

Michelle’s Review:

I’ve just finished reading this one. Picked it up about twenty minutes ago, and I’m done. So much so that I almost burned my lunch. Not only is there some very steamy sex in it, but it’s full of vampires, and I love nothing more than sex and vampires.

What I liked specifically about this was the Queen of the Damned feel about it. Tormented vampires, rock stars, blood, sex, and everything that implies. The characters were easy to love, which is unusual in such a short piece, and I got to know quite a bit about them, too. They were portrayed brilliantly.

In fact, there was only one issue I had with the story, which is why it is four stars and not five. There was a slight issue with commas. Not enough of them as opposed to too many. And it was missing them in certain places consistently. However, having said that, it didn’t detract from the story. I steamed through the whole thing and though I noticed when commas were absent, it didn’t slow me down any.

I also liked the mystery that it left me with. A character who is no longer there, but no explanation as to why. It was covered in such a way that I had enough information to for a rough picture, but wasn’t burdened with the whole picture. The addition of this gave the characters more depth without overcomplicating the story or adding an unneeded side plot.

All in all, go read it. It’s all of 77p on Amazon at the moment, and for a story that sucks you in as well as this one does, that is a steal. Click the book cover to go to Amazon.

About Emma:

Emma Meade lives in rainy Ireland. She loves reading and writing supernatural fiction.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under reviews, short reviews

Leave a comment