Opposites, by C. Patrick Neagle

Short, Sweet, and Snappy Review:

Title:  Opposites

Author:  C. Patrick Neagle

Genre: Horror

What I liked: the idea

What I didn’t like: It was a bit weird

Recommended Read: Yes

Rating: 3 Stars

Synopsis:

This very short story (approx. 1200 words) was originally written for a Sleuth’s Ink Mystery Writer’s Group contest. Fear the dark, and mirrors, and the dangers within our own souls. Enjoy.

Michelle’s Review:

This is one of those shorts that I would recommend reading partly because it is a bit weird, and also on the same breath recommend the opposite for the same reason. For me it was somewhat disjointed in places and the events of the story didn’t really gel together very well.

Technically speaking, it was well written and well described. However, the biggest point for me was the idea behind it. Everything having an opposite, like the reflection in a mirror. It was an idea that kept me reading through until the end. But when I looked back on it to write the review, I found that it hadn’t stuck with me very well, and most of it just didn’t stand out very much.

But as it is a free read, it is worth picking up, if only to use it to pass a little bit of time. Click the book cover to go download it.

 

1 Comment

Filed under reviews, short reviews

One response to “Opposites, by C. Patrick Neagle

  1. Hi there. This is a bit tardy, but i wanted to thank you for reading and reviewing “Opposites.” Mirrors have always fascinated me and I’d been wanting to write a story about the space beyond (a la “Through the Looking Glass,” but darker) for some time. However, when I sat down to write “Opposites”, what I got was a strange little story about a guy, a girl, and a shark. In future versions–including the book that’s percolating–I’m hoping the idea congeals a bit mroe solidly than it did in “Opposites,” which, in the end, seems to be more a story of madness than of that ‘space beyond.’

    Anyway, again, thanks for the review.

    cheers,
    C. Patrick Neagle…

Leave a Reply

