Excerpt from Heart Search by Carlie Cullen

 Excerpt from Heart Search

Something moving in the room drew my attention and I turned my head to see what it could be. My eyes widened to the point of being painful, I craned my head forward straining my neck and a small cry of shock and disbelief flew from my gaping lips. Dancing in the air, as if attached to invisible wires, was my deodorant can.

I clapped my hands over my mouth and stared at the can as it bobbed and weaved back and forth near the far wall.  What the hell? Was I hallucinating? I squeezed my eyes shut against the vision, willing it to disappear, wishing for it not to be there when I opened them again.

I heard a soft clunk and slowly opened my eyes; my heart pounded with fear as I looked up. My deodorant can was on the dressing table where I’d left it. I shook my head. Had I imagined it? I must have done. Maybe the dream had unsettled me more than I thought and my mind was playing tricks on me. Thinking of the dream once more altered my focus.

Anxious thoughts clouded my mind about what I’d witnessed during my slumber. Was it real or a dream? My perception was that it was scarily real, but how could it be? I didn’t know where Joshua was and I’d never met the people he was with or visited the place where I saw him. This was soooo confusing.

I sat forward and hugged my knees to my chest. Perhaps it seemed so real because I wanted it to be. I wanted to know where he was, who he was with and most of all that he was all right.

About Carlie Cullen

Carlie M A Cullen was born in London. She grew up in Hertfordshire where she first discovered her love of books and writing. She has been an administrator and marketer all her working life and is also a professional teacher of Ballroom and Latin American dancing.

Carlie has always written in some form or another, but Heart Search: Lost is her first novel. This was launched 8th October 2012 through Myrddin Publishing Group and work has started on book two: Heart Search: Found. She writes mainly in the Fantasy/Paranormal Romance genres for YA, New Adult and Adult.

Carlie is also a professional editor.

Carlie also holds the reins of a writing group called Writebulb. Their first anthology, The Other Way Is Essex, was published September 2012 under Myrddin Publishing Group.

Carlie currently lives in Essex, UK with her daughter.

Where to find Carlie

http://carliemacullen.com
http://twitter.com/carlie2011c

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest post

Leave a Reply

