Mocked by Destiny, by Michele Richard

Summary:

For Stella Richards, life in the charming town of Virginia Beach is not as magical as one would think. Sun, fun, and sand only guarantee one thing, unwanted visitors. Stella learned long ago to never befriend anyone visiting the beach. They’re here; then they’re gone, drifting in and out as the tide ebbs and flows. She vowed to never connect with anyone vacationing in Virginia Beach – until spring break. Stefan changed everything.

Stefan Sterling lives life never knowing where he will end up next. Bouncing from one Military base to another has hampered his ability to connect to those around him. That’s what happens when your father is in the military. Raised in a world of discipline, control, and strangers, Stefan never expected to find anyone he’d want to be close to…let alone love.

A family curse verses a loving abnormality promises to keep Stella and Stefan on their toes. Was it an accident or could it be destiny? Will they be able to survive their families? And, is there ever a time when you can fully let go of the person who awoke your soul?

A story of love, sacrifice, and growing up before it’s time.

 

Thank you for letting me stop by! I’m currently on tour with my first release that is now in its second edition.  It’s quite a unique adventure, something I never really thought would happen. Today I thought I’d do something a little different.

Have you ever wondered what happens to the parts of the books that you don’t get to see? If you’re like me you have. Each author is different. For me: I have saved every one of them. They’re sort of like a director’s cut in the movies. I used them to mark my timeline and keep the storyline where it needed to be. On occasion I have donated the missing scenes to different causes or charities, but that doesn’t happen very often. I’m a huge fan of giving back to my fans that have followed me through my seven releases between two different publishing houses.

I recently had the chance to bring Mocked by Destiny back to Virginia Beach where the book was actually hand penned and is also the setting for the story. It in itself was an adventure. One I welcomed. With the journey came new inspiration to write the second installment to Mocked by Destiny.  I am currently writing Joshua’s Journey, but back to Mocked by Destiny. I wanted to share an excerpt of one of my favorite scenes. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

                “Did you really think I would forgo looking for you and my children? It’s one thing if you don’t love me, but it’s another when you try to make my choice for me. We all know how well that worked out when my parents tried,” he heatedly spoke.

                Before I said anything, I looked around at the living room. There on the table stood a vase with a dozen red roses prominently displayed. My eyes shot to his to see him watching me admiring them.

                “They represent the twelve things I love about you. Would you like to know what they stand for?” The most I could manage was a soft nod.

                “One, your beauty that captured my heart the moment I first saw you.” He pulled one rose out and placed it in my shaking hands. “Two, the way you loved me even after everything that happened.” Again, he put another rose in my hands.

                “Three, that adorable giggle you release when you’re embarrassed.” My bouquet grew by one more. “Four, the fact that you waited for me even after my mother lied and told you I’d moved on.” I sniffed, gazing into his loving gray eyes.

                “Five, I love the way you accept me just the way I am.” I could feel my resolve faltering. “Six, your lips on mine; your taste is better than any chocolate I have ever had.”

                “Seven, feeling your body against mine, so warm and soft.” This time when he placed the rose in my hands, he rubbed my shaking fingers with his own.

                “Eight, the intelligence you hide from everyone except me and your teachers. And nine, that you gave me your heart when you denied it to everyone else.” Seeing his eyes twinkle had my knees going weak.

                “Ten, your determination to succeed against all the odds.” He sighed.

“Eleven, the way you set my soul ablaze every time you walk into the room.”

                With one left to go, I had a feeling I knew what he was going to say. “I love the fact that you don’t hate me for getting you pregnant.” His smile faded.

 

Mocked by Destiny is a raw and realistic view in the life of an unwed, teenager who finds herself pregnant; however it’s also a romance. Not only does Stella have to deal with her teen hormones she also has to deal with the surges of pregnancy ones.

 

I hope you’ll take a look at it. It can be found at the current links:

 

Amazon

 

Barnes and Noble

 

Smashwords

 

Createspace

 

Feel free to find me on Twitter @M_A_Richard or http://www.michele-richard.net

 

Thank you again!

 

Michele Richard

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest post

Leave a Reply

